Spatial Description

The Kopanong Municipal area is situated in the southern Free State. It has the largest surface area of the three local municipalities in the Xhariep district, covering 15 190 square kilometres (44, 5%). The nine towns situated in Kopanong are Trompsburg (Municipal Head Office), Gariep Dam, Springfontein, Bethulie, Philippolis, Jagersfontein, Fauresmith, Edenburg and Reddersburg.

The Xhariep District – dry with extensive farming, mainly sheep and small platteland towns. The seat of Xhariep is Trompsburg. The largest language group in the 135 253 population is Afrikaans (2001 Census). The district comprises open grasslands. The southern border is the Orange River, which was called the Gariep River by the indigenous Khoikhoi people. The Gariep dam is one of the major tourist attractions, as it offers a variety of accommodation and leisure facilities, which are mainly centred around water sports.