Environmental Profile

There are four formal land-based protected areas in the municipality, namely the Xhariep Dam Nature Reserve, Oviston Nature Reserve, Rolfontein Nature Reserve and Wurasdam Nature Reserve. These reserves cover 45740.2ha (3%) of the municipal area. There are no RAMSAR sites in the municipality. There are two biomes in the Kopanong Municipality covering 1524830.3 ha, namely Grassland and Nama-Karoo. Ten vegetation types occur in the municipality. There is also one vulnerable ecosystems, covering 7.2 % of the Kopanong Municipality. This is the Bloemfontein Dry Grassland. The Freshwater Ecosystems in the municipality are characterized by one water management areas, namely the Upper Orange. Fourteen rivers run through the municipality and wetlands cover 2.3 % of the municipal area.