The Kopanong Local Municipality comprises of 15 councillors, i.e. 8 Ward Councillors and 7 Councillors elected from proportional lists of political parties. There were 25,157 registered voters on the voters roll for the 2011 local government elections. The highest voter turn-out was achieved in Ward 6 with 73.79 %. The lowest voter turn-out in the municipality was in Ward 7 with 61.80 %. The average voter turn-out achieved in the 2011 municipal elections was 66.27 %. Following the May 2011 municipal elections, three political parties and one independent candidate are represented in the municipality.

  • The African National Congress (ANC) is the majority party and holds 10 of the 15 seats.
  • The Democratic Alliance (DA) holds three seats and the Congress of the People (COPE) holds one seat.
  • The Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) lost the seat they held following the 2006 local government elections.

Documents of Interest