# MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD

# DELIMITATION OF MUNICIPAL WARDS IN TERMS OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT: MUNICIPAL STRUCTURES ACT, 1998 2005/2006 LOCAL ELECTIONS

#### **Province : Free State**

## Municipality : Kopanong Municipality (FS162)

In terms of Item 5(1) of Schedule 1 to the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No.117 of 1998) the Municipal Demarcation Board hereby publishes its delimitation of wards for the above-mentioned municipality. Particulars of the delimitation are listed in the Schedule.

In terms of Item 5(2) of Schedule 1 to the Act, any person aggrieved by a delimitation may within 14 days of publication of this notice submit objections in writing to:

The Municipal Demarcation Board Private Bag X28 Hatfield 0028 Fax: 012-3422480 E-mail: <u>info@demarcation.org.za</u>

The public is hereby invited to submit objections before or on 31 March 2005.

VUYO MLOKOTI CHAIRPERSON: MDB

## SCHEDULE

In terms of section 18(3) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act 117 of 1998) the MEC responsible for local government has determined that the municipal council consists of **14** councillors.

After having consulted the Independent Electoral Commission, The Municipal Demarcation Board has delimited the municipality into **7** wards in terms of Schedule 1 to the Act.

The number of registered voters in each ward does not vary by more than fifteen percent from the norm. The norm was determined by dividing the total number of voters on the municipal segment of the national common voters roll, namely **23399** voters on 20 February 2004, by the number of wards in the municipality.

The **Kopanong Municipality** comprises of **7** wards. The ward numbers, the voting districts in each ward, and the number of voters are as follows:

Ward 1 consisting of **3101** registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Voting district 21980011 (MATOPORONG COMMUNITY HALL) comprising 2696 registered voters
- Voting district 22090025 (GROOTWATER FARM SCHOOL) comprising **147** registered voters
- Voting district 22090058 (BETHANY FARM SHED) comprising 144 registered voters
- Voting district 22090070 (POORTJIE FARM SHED) comprising **114** registered voters

Ward 2 consisting of 2993 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Voting district 21890011 (EDENBURG (HA-RASEBEI) SCHOOL) comprising 1834 registered voters
- Voting district 21890022 (EDENBURG TOWN HALL) comprising 1159 registered voters

Ward 3 consisting of 3638 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Voting district 21850017 (BETHULIE TOWN HALL) comprising 1479 registered voters
- Voting district 21850028 (LEPHOI COMMUNITY HALL) comprising **1826** registered voters
- Voting district 22090115 (DIEPFONTEIN FARM BUILDING) comprising 88 registered voters
- Voting district 22090126 (SPRINGBOKFONTEIN FARM BUILDING) comprising 108 registered voters
- Voting district 22090227 (STERKFONTEIN FARM BUILDING) comprising 108 registered voters
- Voting district 22090238 (RIETPOORT) comprising **29** registered voters

Ward 4 consisting of 3671 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Portion of voting district 22010016 (MAPHODI PRIMARY SCHOOL) comprising 1200 registered voters
- Voting district 22030018 (TROMPSBURG TOWN HALL) comprising **2210** registered voters
- Voting district 22090081 (LOCKSHOEK FARM SHED) comprising **96** registered voters
- Voting district 22090137 (STRAUSSFONTEIN FARM SHED) comprising 83 registered voters
- Voting district 22090205 (KRAAIFONTEIN FARM BUILDING) comprising 82 registered voters

Ward 5 consisting of 3808 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Voting district 21970010 (PHILIPPOLIS TOWN HALL) comprising 2081 registered voters
- Portion of voting district 22010016 (MAPHODI PRIMARY SCHOOL) comprising 767 registered voters
- Voting district 22050010 (GARIEP DAM TOWN HALL) comprising 671 registered voters
- Voting district 22090159 (FARAOSFONTEIN FARM) comprising **66** registered voters
- Voting district 22090160 (DE RUST FARM SHED) comprising **102** registered voters
- Voting district 22090216 (KLAVERFONTEIN FARM BUILDING) comprising 121 registered voters

Ward 6 consisting of 2876 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

 Voting district 21900013 (FRAYVILLE COMMUNITY HALL) comprising 2027 registered voters

- Portion of voting district 21920026 (JAGERSFONTEIN TOWN HALL) comprising 596 registered voters
- Voting district 22090193 (VLAKFONTEIN FARM SHED) comprising **51** registered voters
- Voting district 22100038 (PYLKOP FARM) comprising **171** registered voters
- Voting district 22100140 (METZ FARM HOUSE) comprising 31 registered voters

Ward 7 consisting of 3312 registered voters comprising the following voting districts:

- Voting district 21920015 (MAYIBUYE COMMUNITY HALL) comprising 2024 registered voters
- Portion of voting district 21920026 (JAGERSFONTEIN TOWN HALL) comprising 425 registered voters
- Voting district 22080169 (TIERPOORT BESPROEIINGSAAL) comprising 175 registered voters
- Voting district 22080170 (HAGESDAM SCHOOL) comprising 138 registered voters
- Voting district 22080181 (BRAKDAM-OOS FARM SCHOOL) comprising 114 registered voters
- Voting district 22090069 (BANKFONTEIN FARM SHED) comprising 107 registered voters
- Voting district 22100049 (LOKSHOEK FARM) comprising **132** registered voters
- Voting district 22100050 (SORGVLIET FARM BUILDING) comprising **197** registered voters