

## **ANC THUMPS RIVALS IN 17 BY-ELECTIONS**

08 Oct 2010 | Canaan Mdletshe

THE ANC made a clean sweep in Wednesday's by-elections in Eastern Cape, Free State, Kwazulu-Natal and Western Cape.

The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) said in Pretoria yesterday that the ANC won 17 of the 18 seats contested in the municipal ward by-elections.

The remaining seat went to an independent candidate.

IEC spokesperson Kate Bapela said Zache Ngxingo is the new councillor in Ward 4 of Ndlambe Municipality in the Eastern Cape.

Bapela said voter turnout varied from 29,6 percent to 62,7 percent, with an average of 41,95 percent.

There were six uncontested wards and five of those by-elections were scheduled for the Amahlathi Municipality in the Eastern Cape.

The new Amahlathi councillors are: Mhleli Howard Funani in Ward 1; Zamuxolo Emmanuel Mfulana in Ward 7; Zola Mzamo in Ward 13; Xolela Roji in Ward 14 and Lungile Johnson Muluse in Ward 17.

The sixth uncontested seat was in the Free State's Kopanong Municipality's Ward 6 and the new councillor is Daniel Phepeng.

The new councillors in the other contested wards in the Eastern Cape's Amahlathi municipality are: Mxolisi Mjikelo in Ward 4; Nompumelelo Mirriam Stemela in Ward 5; Buyiswa Jama in Ward 6; Mhleli Editor Hejane in Ward 11; Mabitana Mani in Ward 20.

In Ngquza Hill Municipality, Lungile Thimle won Ward 10, while in the Free State, Aaron Xolani Mbambo in Matjhabeng Municipality and Thabo Andries Mohloare in Nala Municipality's Ward 9 are the new councillors.

In KwaZulu-Natal's KwaDukuza Municipality's Ward 7, Nicholus Siniko Bhengu is the new councillor, while in the Western Cape's Oudtshoorn Municipality, Jurie Harmse (Ward 5); and Gordon April in (Ward 12), are the new councillors.

[Source: www.sowetanlive.co.za]